David Bisbal – Track By Track: Una Noche En El Teatro Real

Image

 

I start my acoustic concert with a “copla” which introduces the audience to my art, my roots, my homeland and most of all to a more intimate David.

My wish was to use as few instruments as possible and, most of all, come up with something I had never introduced my audience to.

With EL RUIDO, I wanted to keep this intimacy singing acapella and then let the magic reveal itself: the stage display and the band appearing little by little. It’s one of the songs that required a change in the voice inflections and undoubtedly one of the most special songs based on audience’s applause.

LLORARE LAS PENAS- The work on this song, one of the best known songs in my repertoire, has also been exquisite. We tried to make half of the song sound like bosanova and kept the pop roots for the other half. This musical arrangement forced me to sing the lyrics in a more intimate way, completely different from the electrical concerts or the Corazon Latino Tour.

EN UN RINCON DEL ALMA was a revelation among the songs I chose from each decade, Alberto Cortes’s lyrics make of it one of the most important songs of the repertoire.

It’s been an honor to sing DOY LA VIDA. I used to get so emotional while working on the musical arrangements that I hardly finished singing it.

SOMBRA Y LUZ is a dream come true as its composer is Alejandro Sanz, an artist I’ve been admiring since the beginning of my career. Besides, I identify myself a lot with the lyrics and with the elements in the story.

AVE MARIA is the most entertaining, the most famous song and the first single in my career. It changed completely from the version launched 9 years ago. It allowed me to be playful while accompanied by the piano, double bass, drums, flamenco guitars, percussion and it turned out to be a real success and I congratulate my band for this as Ave Maria hasn’t lost its essence with this new version.

I owe ADORO a lot in my career, couldn’t have left it out from this love and time musical travel. I felt free to sing it my own way accompanied by Pedro Hoyuelos’s piano and the string octet. Julio Montalvo really knew how to make an exquisite string arrangement. I admit I get goose bumps every time I listen to the band perform it.

Joan Manuel Serrat’s LUCIA is also present in this travel. I had the pleasure to be accompanied by David Palau and his jazz guitar and by juan Sanchez with his flamenco guitar. By the middle of the concert two instruments become my companions allowing for an exquisite interlude.

LA LUNA- As I’m very faithful to my Andalusian roots I wanted to pay tribute to the Andalusian rock on this travel through decades and best works of our Latin culture. There was a band I used to like, I liked all, but I chose Alameda. The great and so unconventional arrangements of the Marinelli brothers, the unique voice of Pepe Roca turned me into a huge fan.

QUIEN ME IBA A DECIR has also changed from the original version. The syncopated and off beat arrangements turned it into a difficult song to perform. It allowed me to change my voice melody and sing softly. It’s the song that most allows me to interact with the audience as a constant dialogue.

I adapted SILENCIO  to a ballad making use of a whispered crying voice, trying not to sing too loud, be less selfish on my vocals as previously I used to improvise a lot. This acoustic concert has taught me to control this, be calmer.

Y SI FUERA ELLA is one of the most important songs in my career that’s taught me a lot as it’s one of the most difficult to sing and the most beautiful ever composed. It’s wonderful to have the audience sing along its beautiful lyrics every time!

MI PRINCESA is an abstract painting that connected me every night to my audience, a wonderful fairy tale that brings this decade travel to its end in a nice way, it’s the song that’s opened my eyes to approaching the acoustic project. When accompanied by so few instruments, I realized that less can often be more.

ESCLAVO DE SUS BESOS brings the concert to its end. If at the beginning of the concert I’m accompanied only by one instrument, I wanted to have the entire band on stage including the string octet with arrangements by Joan Albert Amargos which make the song attractive to the audience and they seem to love it! I could see the smile on people’s faces while dancing to the song!

David Bisbal

Translated from Spanish by Fan Club David Bisbal in Romania

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Negri on April 27, 2012 - 4:53 pm

    una maravilla de concierto,tuve la suerte de estar en el Teatro Real y fué apoteosico,no se puede cantar mejor¡¡ la VOZ,…. David bisbal

Leave a comment